New board members for Chestnut Hill Conservancy

Posted 2/29/24

The Conservancy elected three new directors alongside the re-election of five existing members.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

New board members for Chestnut Hill Conservancy


The Chestnut Hill Conservancy elected three new directors alongside the re-election of five existing members at its annual membership meeting on Jan. 18.

The re-elected board members include Steve Gendler, Susan Jacobson, Nancy Newman, Deborah Popky, and Paul Toner, each bringing a wealth of experience and dedication to the table.

The newly elected directors, Robert "Rob" Fleming, R. Scott Hanson, and Federico Mingozzi, are celebrated for their long-standing support and active participation in both Conservancy initiatives and broader community efforts. Their diverse expertise is expected to greatly benefit the Conservancy's ongoing projects and future endeavors.

Rob Fleming, a Chestnut Hill stalwart for nearly half a century, is recognized for his influential landscape architecture, notably along Germantown Avenue and the Krisheim Gardens restoration. Fleming's extensive community involvement includes roles with the Church of St Martin-in-the-Fields, the Highlands Historical Society, Morris Arboretum, and the Wyck Association.

R. Scott Hanson brings his deep knowledge of Urban History and Material Culture from his senior scholarly position at Drexel University. With a rich background in American urban history and public history projects, Hanson's contributions are anticipated to enhance the Conservancy's cultural heritage efforts significantly.

Federico Mingozzi, a leader in the biotechnology sector and a committed environmental advocate, rounds out the trio of new Directors. His scientific acumen and dedication to sustainable development are expected to align closely with the Conservancy's goals of preserving Chestnut Hill's natural and architectural beauty.

The 2024 HDAC elections also concluded with the selection of members committed to the architectural and historical integrity of Chestnut Hill. The committee for this year includes Richard Bartholomew, Patricia Cove (chair), Shirley Hanson, Eileen Javers, Matt Millan, William O’Keefe Jr., Miles Orvell, Deborah Popky, William Webster, and Randy Williams.

For more information visit