Standing beside the new plaque honoring Cyrus H. Nathan '30 Distinguished Faculty Chari Awardees are the first recipients. From left Sheri Melcher, Laura Nagle, Jeanne Hillinck, Philip Stevens, Andrew Wolf and Tiffany Upshaw.

Earlier this week, Chestnut Hill Academy and members of the Nathan family honored the first six recipients of the Cyrus H. Nathan ‘30 Distinguished Faculty Chair Awards at a dinner hosted by board trustee John McNiff and his wife, Evie, of Plymouth Meeting.

The endowed chairs were established in 2010 with a $2.2 million bequest from CHA alumnus Cyrus H. Nathan `30, who wanted to establish a lasting legacy that celebrated his experience at CHA and the faculty who taught him.

The awards, given to deserving faculty at both CHA and Springside School, are intended “to promote and celebrate inspiring teachers – those educational leaders who are effective in the classroom, respected by their peers, highly motivated to stay current, and who drive innovation and best educational practices within their fields.”

Distinguished Faculty Chairs are expected to use the funds they receive to pursue professional development and to share their learning with colleagues.

The first recipients, representing Lower, Middle, and Upper School divisions at CHA, Sheri Melcher,Music and Arts; Laura Nagle, Languages; Jeanne Hillinck, Science; Philip Stevens, English; Andrew Wolf, Mathematics, and Tiffany Upshaw, History.
Two of the recipients, Chestnut Hill residents Laura Nagle and Tiffany Upshaw, acknowledged the extraordinary opportunity presented by this award.

“It will allow me to stay on the forefront of best practices in education and continue to learn and grow as an educator so that our students are receiving the best education possible,” Upshaw said.

“I’m grateful to the Nathans for establishing a program that not only honors teachers, but offers us generous resources to pursue professional development opportunities and develop new programs that will benefit our students and colleagues,” Nagle said.

A plaque honoring these and future endowed chair recipients will hang prominently in the halls of Chestnut Hill Academy.