Bantam A - Award Recipients Lloyd Timon - Sportsmanship, Ethan Ashley - MVP and David Mustin - Coaches Award

by Sue Dougherty

President’s Day weekend, Wissahickon Skating Club’s Bantam A and PeeWee A  hockey teams captured the Championship trophy from the teams from Merritton Athletic Association in St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.

The Bantams (ages 14,15) won 8-0 with goals from Tom Hamilton, Ethan Ashley, Dylan Bear, Jimmy Dougherty, Colin McCoy (2 goals), Max Nason and David Mustin. Nick Madson protected the net for a shut out.

The PeeWee (ages 12 & 13) played a nail biter game and won in a shoot out. Wissahickon scored first and extended the lead to 3-0. Merrittion battled back, tying the game in the 3rd period and sending the game into a 10-minute sudden death overtime period, which involved several chances for both teams to end the game.

At the end of overtime however, the score was still 3-3 and the game was to be decided by a 5-man shootout.

PeeWee A Award Recipients Nick Bond - Coaches Award, Steve Hamel - Captain, Joey Devine - Sportsmanship and Not pictured, Will Affel - MVP

Wissahickon, the visitors, went first. The first four shooters were stopped by some fantastic goaltending. Wissahickon’s 5th shooter Robbie Roak, skated down ice, pulled the puck to his backhand, and buried the puck just under the crossbar for a goal. Merrittion’s last skater made a quick move onto his forehand, got goalie Will Affle moving, but couldn’t get the shot over the goaltender’s glove. The ref hesitated for a moment to make sure the puck did not cross the goaline and gave the “no-goal” signal. Wissahickon won, 4-3.

The competition between Wissahickon Skating Club and Merritton Athletic Association has been going on for 47 years making it the longest running international exchange in youth hockey.